Head-to-head · Dash Cams
Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) vs Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear)
Both products side by side: five criteria scores, manufacturer list price and published specs. The conclusion below is generated from the scores — no opinions added.
What the scores say
On overall score, Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) ranks higher: 3.7 vs 3.6.
- Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) leads on fit & compatibility (4.5 vs 3.5), warranty & support (3.0 vs 2.5), value (3.5 vs 3.0).
- Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear) leads on spec strength (5.0 vs 4.0), build quality (4.0 vs 3.5).
- Lower manufacturer list price: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) ($329.99 vs $549.99, a $220.00 gap).
| Criterion | Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) | Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear) |
|---|---|---|
| Scores | ||
| Overall | 3.7/5 | 3.6/5 |
| Spec strength | 4.0 4K STARVIS 2 front, Dual HDR, GPS, ADAS and an LTE option in one unit, but the rear camera is 1080p where the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) gives you 2K. | 5.0 Only unit here with built-in radar parking, 2K@60fps option, ADAS and cloud alerts on top of 4K + 2K recording. |
| Build quality | 3.5 Operating range tops out at 140°F (60°C) versus 149°F on the VIOFO A229 Pro and 158°F on the 70mai A900; Thinkware does not state whether the ARC 800 uses a supercapacitor. | 4.0 Supercapacitor and an Ambarella CPU, but Thinkware's store page does not publish an operating temperature range the way VIOFO (149°F / 65°C) does. |
| Fit & compatibility | 4.5 Hardwiring cable and a 32 GB card are in the box, so parking mode works on day one; the VIOFO A229 Pro and Vantrue N4 Pro make you buy the kit separately. | 3.5 Radar parking requires the OBD-II or hardwiring cable (included in this bundle); 256 GB card cap is half the VIOFO's 512 GB. |
| Warranty & support | 3.0 1-year warranty, versus 18 months on the VIOFO A229 Pro (24 with registration) and up to 18 months on the Vantrue N4 Pro; Thinkware does have US-based support. | 2.5 12 months on a $550 camera, vs 18–24 months on the $349.99 VIOFO A229 Pro. |
| Value | 3.5 $329.99 sits $20 under the 2K-rear VIOFO A229 Pro and more than double the 4K/1080p REDTIGER F7N ($139.99); you pay for AI Night Vision, ADAS and the LTE upgrade path. | 3.0 $549.99 is about $200 more than the VIOFO A229 Pro for the same 4K + 2K resolution; you are paying for radar, ADAS and cloud. |
| Manufacturer list price | ||
| MSRP | $329.99 as of Oct 17, 2026 | $549.99 as of Oct 16, 2026 |
| Published specs | ||
| Front resolution | 4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps | 4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps |
| Rear resolution | 1080p Full HD 1920×1080 @ 30 fps | 2K QHD |
| Field of view | 146° front / 125° rear (diagonal) | 152° front / 128° rear (diagonal) |
| Parking mode | Energy Saving (impact-triggered), Time-lapse (2 fps), Motion & Impact Detection (20 s clips, 10 s before/after); AI Night Vision active in parking mode; hardwiring cable included, OBD-II cable optional | Radar Parking Mode: front and rear radar wake the camera to record a 20 s clip; requires hardwiring or the OBD-II cable |
| GPS | Built-in, with speed and location logging and safety-camera alerts | Built-in, with red-light and speed-camera alerts |
| Adas | Lane departure, forward collision and related alerts | Lane departure, forward collision, front vehicle departure warnings |
| Wifi | Built-in 5 GHz Wi-Fi | Dual-band 2.4 / 5 GHz; Thinkware Connected app features need a hotspot or Wi-Fi |
| Max storage | 512 GB microSD (32 GB card pre-installed) | 256 GB microSD (64 GB card included) |
| Power | Power source type not stated on the store page (supercapacitor vs battery not published) | Supercapacitor |
| Operating temperature | 14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C) | Not published on the store page |
| Warranty | 1 year (official store) | 1 year |
| Sensors | Sony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8.4 MP, 1/1.8-inch) front; 2 MP CMOS (1/2.8-inch) rear | Not published |
| Hdr | Dual HDR (front and rear) | Not published |
| Screen | 2.3-inch IPS LCD touchscreen | Not published |
| Connected | Thinkware CONNECTED features require the optional LTE Module ($149.99) and a service plan | Not published |
| Sensor | Not published | 8.4 MP Sony STARVIS 2 with Ambarella CPU |
| Best for | ||
| Best for | Drivers who want Thinkware CONNECTED remote alerts without buying the $500+ U3000 Pro; Street parkers who want parking mode working out of the box | Street parkers who want 24/7 radar surveillance without a battery pack; Luxury and EV owners who want ADAS and cloud alerts |
Scores are calculated from the manufacturers' published specifications. BaniCar has not handled either unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.
Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) on Amazon Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear) on Amazon
Full reviews: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · Thinkware U3000 (Front & Rear). Updated Oct 17, 2026.

