Head-to-head · Dash Cams

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) vs VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH

Both products side by side: five criteria scores, manufacturer list price and published specs. The conclusion below is generated from the scores — no opinions added.

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear)Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · 3.7/5 vs VIOFO A229 Pro 2CHVIOFO A229 Pro 2CH · 4.4/5

What the scores say

On overall score, VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ranks higher: 4.4 vs 3.7.

CriterionThinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear)VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH
Scores
Overall3.7/54.4/5
Spec strength4.0
4K STARVIS 2 front, Dual HDR, GPS, ADAS and an LTE option in one unit, but the rear camera is 1080p where the VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH ($349.99) gives you 2K.
4.5
4K front + 2K HDR rear on dual STARVIS 2; the Vantrue N4 Pro and Redtiger F7N only give you 1080p in the rear.
Build quality3.5
Operating range tops out at 140°F (60°C) versus 149°F on the VIOFO A229 Pro and 158°F on the 70mai A900; Thinkware does not state whether the ARC 800 uses a supercapacitor.
4.5
Supercapacitor rated to 149°F (65°C) vs 113°F (45°C) on the Garmin Mini 3; no IP rating on the standard rear camera (the Pro-W variant adds a waterproof rear).
Fit & compatibility4.5
Hardwiring cable and a 32 GB card are in the box, so parking mode works on day one; the VIOFO A229 Pro and Vantrue N4 Pro make you buy the kit separately.
4.0
Universal 12 V plug, but parking mode needs the separate HK4 hardwire kit; Redtiger bundles its kit for free.
Warranty & support3.0
1-year warranty, versus 18 months on the VIOFO A229 Pro (24 with registration) and up to 18 months on the Vantrue N4 Pro; Thinkware does have US-based support.
4.5
18 months standard, 24 with registration, vs 12 months on the Thinkware U3000 and Garmin Mini 3.
Value3.5
$329.99 sits $20 under the 2K-rear VIOFO A229 Pro and more than double the 4K/1080p REDTIGER F7N ($139.99); you pay for AI Night Vision, ADAS and the LTE upgrade path.
4.5
At $349.99 it matches the 3-channel Vantrue N4 Pro and undercuts the Thinkware U3000 2CH ($519.99+) while matching its 4K/2K resolution.
Manufacturer list price
MSRP$329.99
as of Oct 17, 2026
$349.99
as of Oct 16, 2026
Published specs
Front resolution4K UHD 3840×2160 @ 30 fps, or 2K QHD 2560×1440 @ 60 fps4K 2160p @ 30 fps, HDR
Rear resolution1080p Full HD 1920×1080 @ 30 fps2K 1440p @ 30 fps, HDR
SensorsSony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8.4 MP, 1/1.8-inch) front; 2 MP CMOS (1/2.8-inch) rearSony STARVIS 2 IMX678 (8 MP) front / IMX675 (5 MP) rear
Field of view146° front / 125° rear (diagonal)140° front / 160° rear
Screen2.3-inch IPS LCD touchscreen2.4-inch
Parking modeEnergy Saving (impact-triggered), Time-lapse (2 fps), Motion & Impact Detection (20 s clips, 10 s before/after); AI Night Vision active in parking mode; hardwiring cable included, OBD-II cable optionalYes: time-lapse, low-bitrate, and auto event detection (15 s pre / 30 s post); HK4 hardwire kit sold separately
GPSBuilt-in, with speed and location logging and safety-camera alertsBuilt-in quad-mode (GPS, BeiDou, Galileo, GLONASS)
WifiBuilt-in 5 GHz Wi-FiDual-band 5 GHz + 2.4 GHz; optional Bluetooth remote
Max storage512 GB microSD (32 GB card pre-installed)512 GB microSD (card not included)
PowerPower source type not stated on the store page (supercapacitor vs battery not published)Supercapacitor (no battery)
Operating temperature14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C)-4°F to 149°F (-20°C to 65°C)
Warranty1 year (official store)18 months; extends to 24 months with product registration
HdrDual HDR (front and rear)Not published
AdasLane departure, forward collision and related alertsNot published
ConnectedThinkware CONNECTED features require the optional LTE Module ($149.99) and a service planNot published
ApertureNot publishedF1.8 front / F1.9 rear
Best for
Best forDrivers who want Thinkware CONNECTED remote alerts without buying the $500+ U3000 Pro; Street parkers who want parking mode working out of the boxDaily commuters who want the best 2-channel image quality under $400; Street parkers willing to hardwire for buffered parking mode

Scores are calculated from the manufacturers' published specifications. BaniCar has not handled either unit. Specs and availability change — verify on the listing.

Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) on Amazon VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH on Amazon

Full reviews: Thinkware ARC 800 (Front & Rear) · VIOFO A229 Pro 2CH. Updated Oct 17, 2026.